Institutional Effectiveness

Neumont, by the numbers.

Neumont measures success by student outcomes. Hence, we focus on who we serve, how they progress, whether they graduate, and where their education takes them afterward. This page brings together key measures of student access, completion, employment, and return on investment, along with independent data that places those outcomes in context.

The figures on this page are for Neumont University. To see how Neumont compares with peer institutions, read the peer comparison report →

58%
IPEDS graduation rate
(first-time, full-time students, 150% of normal time)
91%
Highest program graduation rate
(BS Software & Game Development)
93%
Highest 2024 employment rate
(BS Computer Information Systems)
Recognition & Rankings

Independently ranked for opportunity and ROI

Researchers who measure what a degree actually returns — student access and post-graduation earnings, not prestige — keep reaching the same conclusion about Neumont.

2022
#1 in the nation
Return on investment for low-income students, among bachelor’s-degree-granting institutions.
Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce · ROI report (PDF)
2022
#1 in Utah
#21 in the nation
Economic mobility, out of 1,320 U.S. colleges (top 20%). Neumont students paid off their education in about 2.3 years, versus a 7.8-year average.
Third Way, Economic Mobility Index · study
2025
Opportunity College
One of only two institutions in Utah to earn the designation — recognized for pairing high student access with high alumni earnings.
Carnegie Classifications · 2025 designation list (PDF)
2025 Carnegie Student Access and Earnings scatter plot. Each dot is a U.S. institution plotted by Access Measure on the x-axis and Earnings Measure on the y-axis. Neumont College of Computer Science is highlighted in the upper-right Opportunity quadrant at Access 1.47 and Earnings 2.35.
Where Neumont lands. In Carnegie’s 2025 Student Access & Earnings analysis, each dot is a U.S. institution. Neumont sits in the upper-right “Opportunity” quadrant — higher access (1.47) and higher earnings (2.35) — standing out as a positive outlier above and to the right of the field. Source: Carnegie Classifications, 2025.
Profile — Entering Cohort 2019

Who starts at Neumont

A snapshot of the students who began their studies in 2019 — the same cohort whose graduation outcomes appear in the next section. Figures are the share of the entering class.

84%
of the entering class were men
85%
were 18–19 years old — traditional college age
77%
came from outside Utah
66%
were Pell Grant–eligible
By gender
Male84%
Female15.2%
Not specified0.5%
By age group
17 or younger1.5%
18–1985.4%
20–2410.1%
25–292.5%
30 or older0.5%
By geography
Utah23.2%
Utah neighbor states12.6%
Elsewhere in the U.S.63.6%
By race & ethnicity
White56.1%
Non-White25.3%
Not specified2.0%
Not recorded16.7%
By Pell eligibility
Pell Grant–eligible66.2%
Not Pell-eligible33.8%
Show entering class by home region (headcount)
Region of originStudentsShare
Utah4623.2%
Mountain (non-Utah)2613.1%
West South Central2311.6%
Pacific2110.6%
South Atlantic189.1%
East South Central178.6%
Mid-Atlantic157.6%
Midwest (East)115.6%
Midwest (West)105.1%
Northeast73.5%
Other31.5%
Not specified10.5%
Total entering class198100%

“Not recorded” under race & ethnicity is the balance of the cohort for whom a race/ethnicity value was not on file. Two geography groupings appear on this page and differ by design: “Utah neighbor states” (12.6%) counts only states that share a border with Utah, while the broader “Mountain (non-Utah)” region in the table below (13.1%) also includes non-bordering Mountain states such as Montana.

Retention — Fall 2023 Cohort

First-year retention

The share of first-time students pursuing bachelor’s degrees who began their studies in Fall 2023 and returned in Fall 2024.

74%
First-time, full-time students
128 of 173 students returned the following fall.

Retention by student group

First-time, full-time cohort (173 students). Cohort average: 74%.

By gender
Male74%
Female73%
By race & ethnicity
White72%
Non-White74%
Race not reported79%
Show retention data table
GroupCohortReturnedRate
All first-time, full-time17312874%
Male15111274%
Female221673%
White836072%
Non-White614574%
Race not reported292379%

Rates follow the federal (IPEDS / College Navigator) definition of first-year retention for first-time, full-time students. To protect student privacy, all reported non-white racial/ethnic groups are combined into a single “Non-White” category, and “Race not reported” covers students with no race/ethnicity on file. This cohort began in Fall 2023 — a more recent group than the 2019 cohort used for graduation, because retention is measured one year after entry.

Graduation — Entering Cohort 2019

How the 2019 cohort graduated

Neumont measures the graduation of its 2019 entering class two ways. Both track the same students to completion within 150% of normal program time — they differ only in who is counted.

58%
IPEDS graduation rate
First-time, full-time students only. This is the federally reported, peer-comparable rate.
54.55%
Full-cohort graduation rate
All students who started in 2019, including part-time and returning students.
The federal IPEDS rate counts only first-time, full-time students, so it reflects a subset of the full entering class. The full-cohort rate is broader and therefore slightly lower — both describe the same 2019 starters, just at different widths of the lens.

Graduation rate by program

First-time, full-time students (IPEDS). The dashed line marks the 58% overall IPEDS rate.

BS Software & Game Development31 of 34 graduated within 150% time
91%
BS Business Technology Management10 of 13 graduated within 150% time
77%
BS Software Engineering22 of 32 graduated within 150% time
69%
AS Software Development9 of 13 graduated within 150% time
69%
BS Computer Information Systems16 of 27 graduated within 150% time
59%
BS Web Design & Development6 of 16 graduated within 150% time
38%
BS Computer Science12 of 50 graduated within 150% time
24%
Dashed line = 58% overall IPEDS graduation rate

Graduation rate by student group Federally required · IPEDS

First-time, full-time students — the graduation data required and publicly disclosed under IPEDS. Overall rate for this group: 58%.

By gender
All first-time, full-time students58%
Male59%
Female52%
By financial aid received
Pell Grant recipients54%
Subsidized Stafford Loan but not Pell60%
Neither Subsidized Stafford nor Pell75%
By race & ethnicity
American Indian or Alaska Native0%
Asian (small n)100%
Black or African American36%
Hispanic / Latino52%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific IslanderNA
Nonresident alienNA
White50%
Two or more races0%
Race and ethnicity unknown73%

This first-time, full-time breakdown is the graduation data required and publicly disclosed under IPEDS. NA = not applicable / not reported. Some subgroups reflect very small numbers of students, which can produce rates of 0% or 100%.

Beyond the federal report — full 2019 cohort

Additional, non-required views covering all 2019 starters (cohort average 54.55%), including age and geography — dimensions the IPEDS report does not provide.

By age group
30 or older (small n)100%
25–29 (small n)80.00%
17 or younger (small n)66.67%
18–1954.44%
20–2445.00%
By geography
Utah neighbor states64.00%
Utah54.35%
Elsewhere in the U.S.52.38%

Full-cohort figures count all 2019 starters (part-time and returning students included), so they differ from the first-time, full-time IPEDS rates above. Groups marked (small n) contain very few students; read their extremes with caution. Full-cohort gender, race, and Pell figures appear in the data table below.

Show full graduation data (both populations)
GroupFull cohort (all students)IPEDS (first-time, full-time)
Overall54.55%58%
Male53.61%59%
Female56.67%52%
Pell-eligible / Pell recipient52.67%54%
Not Pell58.21%60%–75%*
White52.25%50%
Non-White (aggregate)48.00%
Age 17 or younger66.67%
Age 18–1954.44%
Age 20–2445.00%
Age 25–2980.00%
Age 30 or older100%
Utah54.35%
Utah neighbor states64.00%
Elsewhere in the U.S.52.38%

*IPEDS reports two non-Pell categories for first-time, full-time students: those receiving a Subsidized Stafford Loan but not Pell (60%) and those receiving neither (75%). IPEDS also reports finer race/ethnicity detail (American Indian/Alaska Native 0%, Asian 100%, Black 36%, Hispanic/Latino 52%, White 50%, Two or more races 0%, unknown 73%) — several of which reflect very small cell sizes. The full IPEDS disclosure is available via College Navigator, linked on the Consumer Information page.

Employment — 2024 Graduates

2024 employment outcomes

Based on graduates who completed their program during the 2024 calendar year and were available for employment. Graduates pursuing further education, serving in the military, residing internationally, medically disabled, incarcerated, or deceased are excluded from the available-for-employment population.

Employed in field  (directly related to field of study) Employed in any position
BS Computer Information Systems14 available for employment
93%64% in field
BS Computer Science22 available for employment
91%64% in field
BS Software Engineering18 available for employment
89%67% in field
BS Web Design & Development9 available for employment
89%22% in field
BS Business Technology Management7 available for employment
71%57% in field
BS Software & Game Development24 available for employment
71%29% in field
AS Software Development21 available for employment
29%10% in field
Show data table
DegreeAvailable for employmentEmployed in fieldEmployed (any)
BS Business Technology Management74 (57%)5 (71%)
BS Computer Information Systems149 (64%)13 (93%)
BS Computer Science2214 (64%)20 (91%)
BS Software & Game Development247 (29%)17 (71%)
BS Software Engineering1812 (67%)16 (89%)
BS Web Design & Development92 (22%)8 (89%)
AS Software Development212 (10%)6 (29%)

Employed in Field: graduates employed in positions directly related to their field of study. Employed: graduates employed in any position, regardless of whether it is related to their field of study.

Methodology: Employment outcomes are verified through written documentation provided by the graduate, direct confirmation from the employer, or alternative verified professional sources in accordance with national career services reporting standards. Verification includes the employer name, job title, and employment start date. Employment statistics are based on information available and verified at the time the data is compiled. Neumont does not conduct ongoing follow-up research regarding graduates’ employment status after the initial employment verification. Neumont University does not guarantee employment, salary levels, or career outcomes for any student or graduate.

About this data. Entering-class and full-cohort figures describe students who began at Neumont in 2019. The IPEDS graduation rate is reported to the public via the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System as required by the U.S. Department of Education, and reflects first-time, full-time students graduating within 150% of normal program time. Employment statistics reflect 2024 program completers available for employment.

Full consumer disclosures, IPEDS reports, and complaint procedures appear in the sections below on this page. Additional statistical disclaimers: neumont.edu/disclaimers.